What are the penalties for driving without a license?
In Pennsylvania, driving without a license can net you some serious penalties. Even if your license hasn’t been revoked or suspended, simply forgetting to carry yours with you can also result in repercussions, even if it’s not as potentially damaging.
According to FindLaw, driving without a license is illegal across the country. In Pennsylvania in particular, you can face a fine of anywhere from $25 to $200 depending on your charges. Simply forgetting your license despite having a valid one is not met with the same sort of repercussions. By presenting your valid license to the judge during your case, you may be relieved of a portion or the entirety of the penalty you could face, though this isn’t always the case.
However, willful violations such as driving on a suspended, expired, revoked or otherwise invalid license will have different consequences. You could face higher charges. Your car may be impounded. In some states, you could even be faced with the possibility of jail time or having an extra period of suspension placed on your license.
In Pennsylvania, driving on a suspended, revoked or cancelled license will result in a fine of up to $500 for a first-time offense. First time offenses with additional DUI-related charges could have a fine of up to $1,000.
If you have been accused of driving without a license, you may wish to contact an attorney who has experience in dealing with license suspensions and related issues. They may be able to help you keep your driving privileges from being completely damaged.